Justices of the Peace

Justices of the Peace are elected for two-year terms. They are members of the Board of Civil Authority (BCA). Their primary duties, as members of the BCA, are certifying elections, tax assessment grievances and abatement of property taxes owed.

JPs also have the ability to perform marriages conducted within the State of Vermont.

Huntington elects seven Justices of the Peace during the November elections that are held in the even years.

Members with terms beginning on January 31, 2021 and ending on January 31, 2023 (2-year terms):

  • Patricia Baumann
  • Don Dresser
  • Shelly McSweeney
  • Heidi Racht
  • Mary Taft
  • Pam Alexander
  • Bonnie Gordon