Huntington Town Administrator Job Opening: full-time with benefits (job description)

The Huntington Selectboard is seeking a highly responsible, dynamic, collaborative and organized individual for the full-time Town Administrator position. The position provides principal liaison and administrative support for the Selectboard in fulfilling their statutory and quasi-judicial responsibilities. Strong budgetary, fiscal management, HR, community engagement, and leadership skills are required. Experience in business, public or non-profit administration and management; local government; and progressively responsible experience in a professional office setting is preferred. Bachelor’s degree or equivalent combination of education and experience.

Full-time, 40 hours per week, salaried position requiring some night meetings while offering schedule flexibility. Huntington offers a very generous benefits package and competitive salary. The job description is available on the Town website at Questions should be directed to the current Town Administrator at / 802-434-4779.

Submit letter of interest and resume via email to the Huntington Selectboard at Applications due 11/14/23 with preferred start date by January 2, 2024, however position will remain open until filled.

The Huntington Selectboard is made up of five elected members. The board is the central point of Huntington’s local town government and is responsible for the general supervision of the town’s affairs. The Selectboard as a whole acts as the official legal representative and legislative body for the town.

The Selectboard  performs three main functions:

  1. To enact town ordinances, regulations, and policies;
  2. To prepare and present a town budget and tax rate for the town, as well as oversee all town expenditures, supervision of personnel and town property;
  3. Additional responsibilities include: appointing members of various town committees, approving driveway permits, and assisting with elections and property tax appeals.

To contact the Selectboard: email the Town Administrator at: or call 802.434.4779

Spring 2023 Meeting Schedule
March 20th – 7 pm
April 3rd – 7 pm and 17th – 7 pm
May 1st – 7 pm and 15th – 7 pm

Selectboard Members :
  • Dori Barton -Chair (2 year term, expires 2025)
  • Landel Cochran – Vice Chair (3 year term, expires 2024)
  • Larry Haskins Jr (3 year term, expires 2026)
  • Roman Livak (3 year term, expires 2025)
  • Everett Lewis Jr  (2 year term, expires 2024)

Selectboard Documents